Our Story

The Deep Pocket Thieves is comprised of singer-songwriters Jimmy Ayers on keys and slide guitar, and Larea Edwards on vocals and violin. The pair began writing together in 2015. The band includes Emmy award winning Mahlon Hawk on bass and percussion; Seth Bennett on drums and percussion; Kirby Velarde on electric guitar with special guests Chrissy G. and Jonny 5 (James Laurie). Their latest EP "Fate" will be available soon.

Band Members

Jimmy Ayers:  Hammond, Guitar, Vocals, Songwriter

Larea Edwards: Vocals, Violin, Songwriter

Mahlon Hawk:  Bass, Percussion

Seth Bennett:  Drums, Percussion

Kirby Velarde:  Guitar


Thank you Colorado Blues Society

August 7, 2017

Congrats to the Deep Pocket Thieves for winning the MHBS IBC competition at Ziggies last Sunday. Once again Colorado will have a strong presence in Memphis where the DPT will be representing the MHBS.